How Long Does It Take To Train A Horse?

Posted on

It’s Sunday night, Rodney Hammerstrom gave his testimony. He’s an amazing young man from South Dakota. He had a horse accident ten years ago and was in a coma for over a month. From a medical stand point he shouldn’t have walked again, but walk he does. He’s spreading a testimony full of hope, and God bless him for it. I don’t think I saw a dry eye in the congregation today.

Took Shiney out again today, the weather was perfect. I’ve gotten to put some major time on him this week. Is he broke? I hear all the time, people have different ideas about broke. Also there are many ideas of how long it takes to train a horse. People will many times send a horse to a trainer for thirty days and expect the horse to be trained with a lifetime warranty. I’ve ridden with folks before that had a mature horse, the horse mess up, and they bring up the persons name that started him as a colt. Wow! That’s sure putting a lot of responsibility on a man.

Here’s how I feel about how long it takes. I’ve seen colt starting competitions, and I like them. Road to the horse is an amazing weekend that we’ve enjoyed several times. A colt is started one day, and the next they compete. These trainers aren’t trying to fool anyone, so don’t be fooled.This is a start, just a start of many hours of training depending what will be done by the particular horse. Another fact is that just because Guy Mclean, Chris Cox, or the other competitors can ride that horse doesn’t mean that you wouldn’t be obliterated. I’ve started many horses where I was on the horse within minutes, sometimes it worked out great, while other times I got pretty dirty. With the horses flight reaction some will buck, some will run, and some will freeze. I don’t enjoy ground work as well as some, but I don’t enjoy getting hurt either. It’s best to start slow, and steady. In the end of thirty days (which is simply a unit of time) the slow steady approach will get you farther.

How long do you train a horse? Some feel that if you can walk, trot, and canter down a trail, put saddle bags on your horse, and he doesn’t spook easily that this is a broke horse. I’ll say that is a great start! I’ll also say that this type of a horse is useful, and can give you loads of pleasure. I can remember the old guys telling me as a young man that wet saddlepads make good horses. I couldn’t agree more, as long as we learn, and consistently use good habits. My theory is that good habits on the part of the rider are what makes great horses.

You actually train a horse for his entire life. Broke, in my world means that you can control any part of his body, the head and neck, the shoulders, the ribcage, and the hips. It happens a little at a time through different exercises. It’s a lot of fun to work on, and if you can achieve it (and you can) it’s like another dimension. So, is Shiney broke? No, but he’s well on his way. He probably has 25 rides on him now, the last few have been on the trail. He’ll walk, trot, canter, back, cross the river, and bucking doesn’t cross his mind. He’s starting to guide well, and i’d say that he’s off to a great start. I’ll spend the next six months suppling his body and getting him ready for a career. There are so many levels of broke, and training, they are all a lot of work, and a lot of fun. Here’s hoping we’ll all have a great new week.

Leave a comment