Ranch Sorting and Saturday at the Ranch

Posted on

We had a great time sorting calves at the two man sorting Friday evening. It was an evening filled with friends and training horses. Jody and April Moon came out. Jody and I have done some Ranch rodeos together and penned cattle on many occasions. I partnered with Danny Davis for the biggest part of the night. Danny and his wife raise some really nice Appaloosa horses.

My new gelding has around 25 rides on him at this point and is a pretty level headed ride. I think horses learn on cattle faster than any other way because it lends reason to our maneuvers. As each run came I would look for holes in our training. The biggest one that I saw was that my horse was super soft to the right but in a bind he would be a little stiff to the left. Guess what? We’ll be working a lot more on the left this week. Like anything else problems get worse with speed. A tire on your car vibrating at 30 will be a lot worse at 60.

Sorting was awesome, but for my wife and I, a visit from my youngest daughter, Anna, and her friend today was priceless. Anna’s in college, very busy and we don’t see her nearly as much as we’d like. They rode, and I got to work on Shineys left side. Anna rode him afterwards, and he was a real gentleman. Kaitlin rode Natasha’s mare, and all was well in our world.

Tomorrow is a new day! True Grit Cowboy Church starts at 10:00am, at 1912 Ardmore Hwy 110 Ardmore, TN. We’d love for everybody to come, and worship with us!

Anna and her friend Kaitlyn riding
Anna and her friend Kaitlyn riding
Anna riding Shiney
Anna riding Shiney

Leave a comment